Institute of Education


The history of the IOE

From 1902 to the present day.

Undated black and white photo of a lecture at the London Day Training College, later known as the UCL Institute of Education.

The Institute of Education was founded in October 1902?as the London Day Training College (LDTC), under the joint auspices of the University of London and of the London County Council. In 1932 it became the University's largest central activity as the Institute of Education, and from 1949 it became the centre of a wider Institute of some 30 associated colleges and departments of education. After occupying various premises in central London, in 1977 the Institute moved to its permanent home, 20 Bedford Way, an iconic, Grade II* listed building of the British Modernist movement designed by Sir Denys Lasdun.

UCL Institute of Education

On 2 December 2014 the Institute and UCL merged to create a new institution with over 35,000 students, the biggest higher education institution in London, and the largest postgraduate institution in the UK, with 19,000 postgraduate students. The IOE joined UCL as a single Faculty School, and became known as the UCL Institute of Education.?

The merger has secured the Institute's lasting influence and mission. It provides the opportunity to extend our global influence further, to work with traditional stakeholders in schools and colleges in new and more imaginative ways, and the chance to build cross-disciplinary work across the full range of higher education.

Cover of The Londinian, the magazine of the Institute of Education
The Newsam Library and Archives at the UCL Institute of Education holds extensive collections of current and historical materials on education and related areas of social science.?

More: Explore UCL's history